About me and this blog

10 Jul

They say that you should write what you know. In the course of life you sometimes learn things that you never thought you would need to know. In my case that was how to deal with the loss of a spouse.

Last year, my wife of 17 years passed away. It was a shock to me, and our little girl. Sometimes I still don’t know how we made it through that first month, but we did. I think it was through the goodwill and hard work of our friends, family and neighbors that did it. I would say that we’re at a point where we’re on our own now, but that’s not entirely true. Our friends and family still are hanging in there with us.
Over the course of the past year, I’ve learned two things. First, how to deal with a sudden unexpected loss…It’s still a work in progress there. The second is how to be a better dad. I was a good dad before, don’t get me wrong, but I had a wonderful partner who helped me raise our daughter. She’s gone now, so the full weight of both parents is on my shoulders.
This blog is intended for any other dads or moms that are out there, in this same situation. You are not alone. It may feel like it, but there are other people going through this same thing every day. If I can in any way provide a bit of relief from the stress, that’s what I’m aiming to do.
I’m also going to use this to list some of the fun things Cincinnati has to offer single and married parents alike. This is a great town to raise a child in, and there are lots of activities each weekend if you know where to look for them.
Leave a Reply

